Finding The Temple Bar Pub
and other famous dublin landmarks




Christchurch Cathedral
Christchurch Place, Dublin 8
Standing on high ground in the oldest part of the city, this cathedral is one of Dublin's finest historic buildings. It dates back to 1038 AD when Sitric, the then Danish king of Dublin, built the first wood here. It is the mother church for the Diocese of Dublin and Glendalough of the Church of Ireland. It is open to the public.
Dublin City Hall
Dame St, Dublin 2
Erected between 1769 - 1779, and formerly the Royal Exchange. It is a square building in Corinthian style. Since 1852, it has been the centre of the municipal government. The interior is designed as a circle within a square, with fluted columns supporting a dome shaped roof over the central hall. The building contains many items of interest, including 102 royal charters and the mace and sword of the city.
Dublin Castle
Palace Street, off Dame Street, Dublin 2
Built between 1208 - 1220 AD, this complex represents some of the oldest surviving architecture in the city. Highlights include the 13th century record tower, the largest visible fragment of the original Norman castle. It houses a new visitor centre in its vaulted basement.
Guinness®
St. James's Gate, Dublin 8
At Guinness® Storehouse you'll discover all there is to know about the world's most famous beer. A dramatic story that begins 250 years ago and ends, where else - in the Gravity® bar with a complimentary pint of the black stuff. This 30million visitor experience brings to life one of the world's most iconic brands. Located at the heart of St. James's Gate Brewery, the seven floors are designed around a central glass atrium mirroring the shape of a pint of Guinness®. Floor by floor, visitors take a surprising journey through the past, present and future of the world's greatest beer. They discover the ingredients, the process, the time, the craft and the passion that goes into every pint.
The Millenium Bridge
The River Liffey
One of the new generation of bridges on the Liffey, the Millenium Bridge is the second of three footbridge on the river, and is a simple span projecting from stone abutements on the quay walls. It connects the busy shopping area on Dublins northside right into the heart of Templebar.
Trinity College
College Green, Dublin 2
Founded in 1592 by Queen Elizabeth. Trinity's lawns and cobbled quads provide a pleasant haven in the heart of the city. Among many famous students to attend the college were playwrights Oliver Goldsmith and Samuel Beckett. The major attractions are the Old Library and the Book of Kells.
The Spire
O'Connell Street, Dublin 1
120 metres tall, by far the tallest structure in Dublin, The Spire was the winning entry in an architectural competition to provide a replacement for Nelson's Pillar which was blown up in 1966. It was erected between December 2002 and January 2003 to great public excitement. The column to the memory of Nelson, which was one hundred and thirty-four feet high, was erected in 1808. It was blown up in 1966 in the middle of the night, but the head of Nelson has been preserved by the Dublin Civic Museum. It is 3 metres wide at the base and tapers to a 15 centimentre wide beacon at the top. The top section is perforated and lit by small LEDs.
The GPO
O'Connell Street, Dublin 1
Built in 1818 halfway along O'Connell Street (formerly Sackville street), the GPO (General Post Office) became a symbol of the 1916 Easter Rising. Members of the Irish Volunteers and Irish Citizen Army seized the building on Easter Monday (24th of April) and Patrick Pearse read out the Proclamation of the Irish republic from its steps. The rebels remained inside for almost a week, but shelling from the British eventually forced them out. Inside the building is a sculpture of the legendary Irish warrior Cuchulainn, dedicated to those who died in the Easter rising.
The Liffey Boardwalk
The Liffey's North Bank
Now you can stroll along the Liffey Boardwalk which runs along part of the northern bank of the Liffey. Between the Millenium and O'Connell Bridges.
The Luas
Dublin City
Trams returned to the streets of Dublin in 2004, after the DUTC tram system was dismantled in the mid-20th century. The Luas is a system of two separate lines: the Green Line running from St Stephen's Green to Sandyford in south County Dublin, and the Red Line, from Connolly railway station to Tallaght in the southwest of County Dublin. Trams run from approximately 0530 until 0030 daily. Tickets are available from vending machines on the platforms. You must buy your ticket before boarding the tram: ticket inspectors travel frequently and have the authority to issue stiff penalties and fines. A variety of tickets are available, and can be paid for in cash or by credit/debit card.
The Ha'penny Bridge
The River Liffey
This is the best known of Dublin's bridges. It was built in 1816 and was the first iron bridge in Ireland. It is a single span structure with cast iron railings and decorative lamps. This foot bridge was originally named the Liffey Bridge but is now called the Ha'penny because until 1919 there was a half-penny charge to cross it.
Bank of Ireland
College Green, Dublin 2
The prestigious offices of Ireland's national bank began life as the first purpose-built parliament house in Europe. Completed in 1739 it served as Ireland's Parliament until the Act Of Union in 1801. Today attendants lead tours that point out the coffered ceiling and oak panelling. There are also huge tapestries of the Battle of the Boyne and the siege of Derry, and a splendid 1,233-piece crystal chandelier dating from 1788. The present building also known as Grattan's Parliament was completed in 1808 after additions were made.
The Temple Bar
Temple Bar, Dublin 2
In 1609 Sir William Temple was made Provost if Trinity College Dublin and Masters Chancery in Ireland and moved to Dublin. Temple built his house and gardens on newly reclaimed land here in the corner of Temple Lane and Temple Bar. In 1656 his son Sir John Temple, acquired additional land which with reclamation made possible the building of a new sea wall. This allowed the development of the area we now know as Temple Bar. In the 17th Century, Barr (later shortened to Bar) usually refered to a raised estuary sand bank, often used for walking on, thus the River Liffey embankment along side the Temple Family's plot became known as Temple's Barr or simply Temple Bar.
The Old Jameson Distillery
Smithfield, Dublin 7
The Old Jameson Distillery captures the imagination and the spirit of Ireland! Their expert guides will lead you through the fascinating story of JAMESON, the world's preferred quality whiskey. Follow the path through malting, milling, mashing, fermenting, distilling and maturing. The journey is completed with a visit to the JAMESON Bar where you can enjoy the ultimate whiskey tasting experience. After your tour, browse in the gift shop or lunch in the restaurant or bars and absorb the unique atmosphere.

Share, Email, Print or Bookmark This Page

site design by Hilmon Arts
The Temple Bar Pub © 2007 -